[UU] Gligar Baton Pass

Status
Not open for further replies.
Um, I'm kind of new to this, so I'm just gonna post a skeleton. Or, at least, what I think is a skeleton.

Name: Baton Pass
Move 1: Rock Polish
Move 2: Swords Dance
Move 3: Baton Pass
Move 4: Taunt/Roost
Item: Leftovers/Yache Berry
Nature: Bold
EVs: 252 HP / 16 Def / 240 SpD

Why this deserves to be on site:

- UU has no real Baton Passers that actually do their job well enough. You've got about two (Blaziken and Ambipom), three if you really wanna push it (either Leafeon or Scyther).
- Gligar can actually function as a wall in UU, even with a Baton Pass set, though obviously, you'd still want to focus on Passing.
- Um...here are some statistics of this set, against some of the more common UU Pokemon. These stats were taken with Light Screen/Reflect in action, which is how this set should really be used.

0 SpAtk Bold Milotic's Surf vs 252/240 Bold Gligar (light screen): 32.3% - 38.3%
252 SpAtk Modest LO Moltres's Fire Blast vs 252/240 Bold Gligar (light screen): 43.1% - 50.6%
252 Atk Adament LO Arcanine's Flare Blitz vs 252/16 Bold Gligar (Reflect): 29.9% - 35.3%

Additional Comments:

Gligar really likes to have Light Screen and Reflect up. Yache or Passho Berry can be used as opposed to Leftovers, and Roost can be used over Taunt, though, I wouldn't recommend it, seeing as you can be Tricked a Choice item, or Taunted yourself.

There's no need to run Speed EVs since, after a Rock Polish, you'll be out-speeding quite a bit of the UU meta-game regardless, so it's better to put those EVs into Gligar's less than stellar Special Defense stat.

Teammates:

Dual Screen Uxie is a great teammate for Gligar, able to use attacks like Memento and U-turn to get Gligar a free pass in. Bibarel and Arcanine work well as recipients, though, Arcanine wants to be a bit careful if you think you'll be coming into a Water-type attack.