SM OU Zaptrodon Balance Team

Introduction

Hello everyone, and welcome to this absolute corner of insanity known as a first RMT. My name is Mysteryous, and I'll be your guide throughout this crazy ride known as a Zaptrodon balance team. Originally this team was designed to be a balanced defense team, but as time went on it became more of simply a balance team, even leaning towards offensive these days.

I'm not exactly new to competitive Pokemon, but I'm rather new to both the forums and the mid-high ladder OU scene. I've been able to peak at about 1580 ladder with this team, but tend to hover in between 1500-1575, and I don't believe I've ever broke 1600. I've had luck with just refining this team myself and tweaking it a bit, but considering that I've sort of plateau-d within my own skill, I thought I would bring it here for people to tear apart and offer advice on a superficial, teambuilding level.

Onto the stars of the show!​

The Team

Stormy (Zapdos) @ Leftovers
Ability: Static
EVs: 240 HP / 252 Def / 16 Spe
Bold Nature
IVs: 0 Atk
- Roost
- Heat Wave
- Volt Switch/Discharge
- Hidden Power [Ice]/Defog

Ah, Zapdos, one of the two stars of the defensive core! This thing is the bane of all physical setup sweepers alike, bar TTar and, to a lesser extent, Mega Gyarados. I picked Zapdos in this case over Rotom-W specifically for the more reliable healing, even though its theoretically a slightly worse typing and a higher weakness to stealth rock. This bird eats things like Kartana, Hawlucha, and even Mega Lopunny and Mega Scizor for breakfast, and works as a sack to weaken mons like Mega Medicham and Zygarde to cripple them late-game. Roost as a mandatory heal move, Heat Wave to threaten Ferrothorn and Scizor out. Volt Switch is my current choice, as the offensive side of this team very much appreciates slow pivots in to prevent damage; however, it overall weakens my matchup against bulky water types such as Tapu Fini.